The Great Escape 2013 Preview

Raised by Wolves are delighted to be attending this weekend’s The Great Escape in Brighton. Some awesome acts on the bill include the previously revered King Krule, Chvrches, MØ and The Strypes amongst others. There are also some acts which I caught recently at the ‘Raiders of the Last Tube’ nights in London such as Misty Miller, and Josh Record. Misty plays the Basement on Friday at 11:30pm, here’s a little taster of what she does…

And here are some other newbies to get excited about. First up is Charlie Boyer and the Voyeurs, playing tomorrow at the Haunt at 10pm and Friday at the Dome Studio Theatre at 9:30pm.

Next up is Wolf Alice. A lot of buzz around these at the moment, I wasn’t entirely sure at first but I started hearing an early Cranberries vibe to them (debut album Cranberries, the good stuff) and Wolf Alice have been growing on me ever since.

It was the bandname of Girls in Hawaii that first caught my attention. Some of their tunes are a little forgettable but if they write some more like Misses, then they could really blow up.

I first saw Dan Croll when I reviewed Stornoway some months back and he supported them at the Kentish Town Forum. One reviewer wrote the next day that Croll was “one of the greatest support acts” they’d ever seen. Big statement. He was pretty fuckin’ goood though. Check out From Nowhere with its equally great video…

And this last slice of The Great Escape is from Eagulls. Everything about their description of a “progessive punk band from Leeds” tells me I shouldn’t like these but, what can I say… tune.

By the way, is it just me or are a lot of the new bands at The Great Escape getting back to a scuzz-rock guitar roots sound. Not a synth in sight on this list, weird. For other news on The Great Escape, I highly recommend the following blogs who were kind enough to invite us to their V.I.B. (Very Important Bloggers) event on Saturday. Thanks guys.

MY BAND’S BETTER THAN YOUR BAND, THE RECOMMENDER, CRACK IN THE ROAD, KILLING MOON

The Great Escape 2013 Preview

Leave a Reply

