The Great Escape announce first acts

I’ve just booked my ticket for The Great Escape 2014, can’t wait! TGE have started announcing the first acts of their line-up and there are some exciting choices. Somewhat surprisingly, Kelis is to headline the Saturday night. Why is that surprising? Well we haven’t heard a peep out of Kelis for a while, didn’t really know she was still making music to be honest. Here’s hoping there’s a new album on the way though. I loved this track she had out a few years back…

There is also many new acts of course. This new act Amber Run remind me so much of the sorely underrated Spry. Even the lead singers look the same, and both called Joe! What do you reckon?

Benjamin Clementine is on board too, I gotta catch him performing Cornerstone – amazing song. I will probably hit some of the solo females out of interest like Denai Moore, Chlöe Howl and Charli XCX.

Could be fun to check out Baby in Vain too, a kind of more hard rock Dutch Haim –

Another “rambunctious” group are these douchebags – Fat White Family. I say that as I played with them back when they were the Saudis and they annoyed the shit out of me. I’m curious to check them out though and try and leave my preconceptions at the door –

https://soundcloud.com/fat-whites/10-audio-track

I’m glad to see some good music from Ireland will be at TGE, namely Rejjie Snow and the September Girls…

And lastly, there are the first of the highly-anticipated acts from the BBC Sound of 2014 list and similar buzz lists over the past few weeks. Here’s rock duo Royal Blood, Ella Eyre (with Rudimental) and Jungle – who have some of the most fun videos I’ve seen in a while.

The Great Escape announce first acts