Welcome Back, Jools

Later with… Jools Holland is back for series 44 and last night’s episode 2 of the series saw Joan as Policewoman, Royal Blood, Paolo Nutini and Lucius perform amongst others. I remember seeing Joan as Policewoman in Dingwells almost ten years ago – and she’s still knocking’ it out of the park!

I was, personally, a bit sceptical about Royal Blood when I first heard of them at the end of last year. I didn’t really understand what they were. Looking back, I don’t know why; they’re simply a rock duo – and the singer/bassist makes his bass guitar alone sound like a full-on fuckin’ three piece band.

Paolo Nutrini is one that I’ve been unsure of in the past too, it all seemed kinda like “housewife music” to me. But, listening to him on Jools Holland, the truth is he evokes a desperation and pain that is reminiscent of the likes of Smokey Robinson. Just beautiful…

Last up on the my favourites from last night’s episode was Lucius – a five piece indie-pop band from Brooklyn, New York; praised by NPR for their “charisma and charm.” Check out their single Turn It Around.

 

Welcome Back, Jools